2 ocenění z Oklahomy

Past Award Winners

Each year Westerners International conducts an awards contest for members. Winners are presented their certificates, checks, and plaques at the WI Reception & Book Auction held during the Western History Association Conference each October. The 2014 award winners were announced in August 2015 and will receive their awards at the WHA meeting planned in Portland, Oregon, October 21-24, 2015.

2014 Award Winners

Co-Founders “Best Book” Award
1st Place
Will Bagley
Utah Westerners, Salt Lake City, Utah
South Pass: Gateway to a Continent
University of Oklahoma Press

2nd Place
Abraham Hoffman
Los Angeles Corral, Los Angeles, California
Mono Lake: From Dead Sea to Environmental Treasure
University of New Mexico Press

3rd Place
Alvin R. Lynn
Palo Duro Corral, Amarillo, Texas
Kit Carson and the First Battle of Adobe Wells
Texas Tech University Press

Coke Wood Award for Monographs & Articles
1st Place
Al Bates
Prescott Corral, Prescott, Arizona
“Prescott Begins”

2nd Place
Brian Dervin Dillon
Los Angeles Corral, Los Angeles, California
“CAMANCHE: California’s Forgotten Ironclad, Part 1 & Part 2”

3rd Place
Susan L. Richards & Rex C. Myers
Pahaska Corral, Cody, Wyoming
“Man + Opportunity = Success: D. Clem Deaver Sells Himself”

Philip A. Danielson Award for Best Programs
1st Place
Jeff Broome
Denver Posse, Denver Colorado
“Collateral Damage: Sand Creek and the Fletcher Family Indian Captivity Story”

2nd Place
Dr. Thomas P. Collins
Prescott Corral, Prescott, Arizona
“Stage Struck Soldiers: Military Theater in Territorial Arizona”

3rd Place
Jerry Selmer
Los Angeles Corral, Los Angeles, California
“A Great American General: War Chief Joseph of the Nez Perce”

Fred Olds Western Poetry Award
1st Place
Rod Miller
Utah Westerners, Salt Lake City, Utah
“Goodnight Goes Riding and Other Poems”

2nd Place (tie)
Tim Heflin
Los Angeles Corral, Los Angeles, California
“Granddad’s Saddle”

2nd Place (tie)
Bernice Landers
Jedidiah Smith Corral, Hot Springs, South Dakota
“The Homesteaders”

2nd Place (tie)
Pete Kennedy
Silver City Corral, Silver City, New Mexico
“Henry McCarty (Alias William Bonney)”

Heads Up Award
Small Corrals
Bisbee Corral, Bisbee, Arizona
Doug Hocking, Sheriff

Large Corrals
Prescott Corral, Prescott, Arizona
Thomas P. Collins, Sheriff

Overseas Corrals -  Zámořský Corral
Pony Express Corral, Czech Republic
V. Michalicka, Sheriff

Westerners University Chapter Scholarship Award for Academic & Leadership Excellence
Tanner Green
West Elk Wranglers
Western State Colorado University, Gunnison, Colorado
Matt Martinez, University Corral Sponsor

Vydáno 04.10.2015